Holding Up a Mirror to Journalism, Mirror Awards Entries due Feb. 14

iMediaEthics publishes international media ethics news stories and investigations into journalism ethics lapses.


Home » Media's Future»

(Credit: Evan Long via Flickr)

There are only a few more days left to get entries in for the 2014 Mirror Awards. The awards “honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry” for the public’s benefit,” the awards’ website says.

The annual journalism awards are given by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. Categories include:
Best Single Article, Best Commentary and Best Profile.

The awards’ website reads:

“The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment.”

Entries are due Feb. 14. Winners are named in June.

iMediaEthics’ 2011 story by Rhonda Roland Shearer and Malik Ayub Sumbal won the Mirror Award for “Best Single Article, Digital Media,” in June 2012.

Last year’s winners were Gawker’s Adrian Chen, The Missouri Press Association, Poynter’s Craig Silverman, Dawn/Pique’s Syed Irfan Ashraf, San Francisco Weekly‘s Joe Eskenazi, The New Yorker‘s Ken Auletta, and American Journalism Review’s Jodi Enda.

Submit a tip / Report a problem

Holding Up a Mirror to Journalism, Mirror Awards Entries due Feb. 14

Share this article:

Comments Terms and Conditions

  • We reserve the right to edit/delete comments which harass, libel, use coarse language and profanity.
  • We moderate comments especially when there is conflict or negativity among commenters.
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *