4 Women Won Wimbledon Since 1936, Times of London Corrects Error

iMediaEthics publishes international media ethics news stories and investigations into journalism ethics lapses.


Home » Corrections»

Andy Murray wasn't the first British person to win Wimbledon in 77 years. (Credit: Andy Murray's Facebook, screenshot)

The Times of London corrected its July 8 headline, “Murray ends 77-year wait for British win,” after a complaint to the Press Complaints Commission, UK Press Gazette reported.

The headline was inaccurate because, as the correction notes, four women have won at Wimbledon between Fred Perry’s 1936 win and Andy Murray’s win this year. The correction reads:

“Since Fred Perry’s 1936 victory in the men’s competition, singles titles at Wimbledon have of course been won four times by British women, most recently Virginia Wade in 1977.”

iMediaEthics previously addressed this error, made by several media outlets.

According to Press Gazette, the PCC “brokered” the Times’ correction.  As of July 22, there was no notice of the complaint on the PCC’s website but the PCC’s Jonathan Collett confirmed by email to iMediaEthics that it received one complaint and “negotiated a clarification which was published in print and online.”

iMediaEthics wrote earlier this month about criticism of the New York Times for its headline, “After 77 Years, Murray and England Rule.”  Murray is Scottish.

Submit a tip / Report a problem

4 Women Won Wimbledon Since 1936, Times of London Corrects Error

Share this article: